Department of Economics
Undergraduate Scholarship and Award Opportunities
Deadline April 29th, 2011 by 4pm

Every spring the Economics Department recognizes the accomplishments of several exceptional students within the Department. We would like to encourage Economics students to nominate themselves for these awards.

Kevin Patrick Moran Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of a UCSB honors student who lost his life in 1970 while in the process of bringing peace to the Isla Vista community. The scholarship is awarded to continuing Undergraduates who demonstrate not only leadership qualities, but also a high degree of academic promise. The award is for $500.

Dean Ramstad Scholarship is designed for a student entering his/her junior year. The student must demonstrate academic promise and be eligible for work-study. The award will enable the student to participate in the Education Abroad Program or UCDC internship. Can apply if already went abroad or attended UCDC internship. The award is for $500.

Sean S. Weld Scholarship was established in memory of Sean S. Weld, an honor student whose interests in economics, travel, and business lead him to start his own business while attending UCSB. The $1000 award will be presented to a student who has shown academic promise, has an entrepreneurial spirit and plans to study abroad.

Robinsons-May Award is awarded to a graduating senior in the College of Letters & Science who has combined excellent academic performance with a business-related activity, such as a major research project or substantial business experience. The award is for $500.

Jenkins-Stark Scholarship is awarded to a continuing Economics student for special achievement. Financial need is also considered. The award is for $500.

The John O. Lewis Memorial Award will be given to a junior or senior UCSB student who has shown significant interest in studio arts. The award recipient will have taken a variety of art courses or has worked in the field of studio art. The award is for $1000.

Lance P. Abbott Award is awarded in memory of UCSB alumni Lance P. Abbott to a student who needs financial assistance. The award is for $500.

David Corlett Memorial Award is awarded to a deserving Economics student for special achievement in memory of David Corlett, a UCSB student who graduated double majoring in Biological Sciences and Economics. The award is for $500.

The Economics Department requests to fill out the cover form and attach both a resume and a personal statement from any student who wishes to nominate him/herself. The resume should include work and volunteer experience as well as any extra-curricular activities. The personal statement should include the student’s plans after graduation, long term goals and a statement of financial need stating how the award will be beneficial, as well as any additional information that may influence the committee’s decision. Students can apply for all the awards mentioned above by submitting one resume and statement, but the student must include the award(s) for which he/she wishes to be considered. All nominations must be submitted by Friday, April 29th, 2011 at 4pm at NH 2121.

Please email Dina Amodeo at if you have any questions
or need to be sent the cover form electronically. Thank you.